Some people believe that women should be treated as equal to men when applying for a job with the police or the military. Others think that women are less suitable for this kind of job. Discuss both views and give your opinion

People hold differing views about gender equality in embarking on occupations in armed force. While some individuals believe that females should not work as policewomen or soldiers, I am of an opinion that they should be given equal rights to the application in the army.

On one hand, there are several convincing explanations why women are less suitable for joining armed force, chief of which is that they are weaker than male counterparts in physical health. From a genetic perspective, females are less physically strong than men, regardless of the professional training, in which physical strength is a prerequisite for the employment at some occupations such as infantry whose daily jobs are physically demanding activities like carrying heavy backpack, armor, travelling long distance. If women are assigned to a unit of infantry, they may find harder to load such heavy weight and run such a long distance, hence less effective work performance.

On the other hand, I firmly hold the view that women candidates can resolve problems requiring skillful tactics, especially in the situations where the task need to be done by personal and professional skills without resorting to violence. A case point is that when police deal with a bank robbery taking a gun and holding hostages, it is more advisable for a negotiation of a release of victims. However, this demands a deep understanding of criminal psychology and emotional control to manipulate the criminals to drop their guns and surrender. Additionally, there is a huge mount of scientific evidence proving that females are emotionally and psychologically smarter than men partners. For this reason, the presence of policewomen is of greater significance than male co-workers.

To sum up, both men and women candidates can have equal opportunity while applying their CV to the job in armed forces because of their advantages characterized by genders.