Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste ?

In the age of economic boom, people adopt consumerism lifestyles, which leads to a significant increase in household waste. Some people assume that new legislation is the only way to deal with the insufficient amount of domestic waste recycled. This essay partially advocates this statement.

On the one hand, making waste recycling compulsory brings a benefit to the problems of waste from households. When a law is enacted, citizens will be law-abiding, pay more attention, and make it into more serious consideration. If people violate the law, they may be fined, punished, and sentenced to imprisonment. Therefore, by imposing sanctions, rewards, and punishments, the government can promote people to take responsibility for classifying and recycling rubbish in a mandatory way. This will help people make a habit of categorizing recyclable garbage to protect our environment.

On the other hand, I believe that introducing a law to force people to recycle is not the sole measure as education is also an alternative method to contribute to the increase in recycling. For example, at school, teachers should teach students about different kinds of refuse and how to classify them as well as negative impacts they may bring if they are not disposed of properly, especially. Therefore, categorizing recyclable waste can be an assignment that students do at home to preserve our environment. Moreover, there should be some campaigns made monthly by activists to raise public awareness of recycling. To encourage everyone to recycle, we can organize numerous activities to instruct them to do some items from recycling waste such as pencil pots, flowerpots and give presents.

In conclusion, making recycling a legal requirement is indeed an effective way. However, it is not the only feasible measure to increase the amount of domestic waste that is recycled.