Some people feel that the design of newly constructed buildings in big cities should be controlled by governments. Others believe those who finance the construction of a building should be free to design it as they see fit. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are different views about the governmental control on the building design. While some people advocate that those who invest in constructing an architecture should design it freely as they find it suitable, I agree with the opinion that the design of new buildings in urban areas should be under control of the government.

Some may argue that people expending money should be allowed to design new buildings in a way they feel it adequate. This is because it can have a favorable impact on local economy. These days, scenic views in cities are increasingly important in tourism with the popularity of social media, such as Instagram and Tik Tok. Therefore, unique architecture can contribute to attracting many tourists from all over the world, boosting the local economy. If the government imposes the strict restriction on the design of buildings, the city will be less appealing visually, which may lead to a significant loss of profit.

Nevertheless, I believe that the government in big cities should regulate the design of buildings which are newly developed because they have a responsibility to secure the safety of general citizens. Some artistic buildings which are using many decorative glasses or asymmetric shape are often destroyed easily by natural disasters, such as typhoon or earthquake. This endangers residents and visitors in the city, which can be prevented by the adequate instruction by the government. Furthermore, the governmental regulation is necessary to preserve a beautiful scenery that the city originally had. Freely-designed buildings can disrupt such a city view, harming the value of the city. Kyoto has a strict regulation for colors and the height of buildings, which contributes to maintain the traditional Japanese atmosphere in the ancient capital of Japan.

To sum up, although some may maintain that people spending funds should have freedom to design a building from an economic perspective, I believe that the governmental control is necessary from a viewpoint of safety and preservation of city views.