Some people prefer to buy local products while others prefer international products. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the booming rate of economic developments, there are two opposing standpoints of consumers, one particularly prefer domestic merchandises, while other believe that international brands are more beneficial, in relating to customer’s preference. This essay will argue how maximizing the use of local produce can bring more to the table.

First of all, there is no doubt about what continental companies can offer, especially product variety and availability to suit the need of every customers. Take supermarkets and mega malls for example, providing numerous selection of fully stocked commodities, from high-end clothing lines to exotic fruits from all corners of the world. But most of the time, these products are heavily taxed, hence the hefty price tag. Besides a wide range of choice, consumers are more likely to gravitate toward foreign brands due to their popularity, which is not necessarily a good thing. Apple could be seen as an exemplar, since every new model of their products are all purchased before hitting the shelves. Although most Chinese consumers believed that it is a social norm to own Apple’s devices, there is no need to have the latest model as a status symbol.

On the other spectrum, however, patriotic consumers are more comfortable with choosing to support the local’s market, while creating more jobs opportunities for their inhabitants. To explain this, these people believe that verified sources of valued produce, ranging from artisan baked goods and wines to seasonal fruits and vegetables, could not be found elsewhere outside their region, which is more preferable than frozen or canned food in supermarket chains. Along with that, a great number of locals can also get a well-paid job in their own town. But that is just the tip of the iceberg, since promoting and patronizing local business can also raise awareness of the native culture and cuisine. In particular, the Vietnamese’s iconic staple Banh Mi from street vendors can outweigh Mac Donald’s fast-food chain anytime with outstanding locally sourced ingredients and a rock-bottom price.

In conclusion, I concur with the idea of developing the socioeconomic state of a region by endorsing their business would ultimately bring positive effects in the long run, which is keeping local businesses from running out and provide a stable growth for the entire society.