Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, because of eating lots of fast food and using modern transportation vehicles, public health is at a dangerous level in most parts of the world. Although some people say that this issue could be addressed by building new sports facilities, others, including myself, believe that there are more useful actions for that purpose.

First of all, doing exercise is not able to make people healthier as long as they do not correct their diet. For instance, eating a cheeseburger full of calories makes a week of walking ineffective. So, informing people of disadvantages of unhealthy food they eat should be given the highest priority.

Second, if someone has adequate motivation for doing sports, he/she would find a way to do that eventually, such as running in the street or cycling to the workplace. In other word, it is important to encourage individuals and inspire them to exercise, which would probably compensate lack of sports facilities.

Some may argue that constructing centers and gyms is a measure that stimulates citizens who have not enough activity to do sports in those clubs, as well as making the situation easier since there is no need to go far to find one. These might be true, however, raising the number of facilities is an expensive process and would charge the government a vast amount of money could be invested in other places like roads and hospitals.

In conclusion, I personally believe that the disadvantages of creating sports facilities in order to promoting public health overwhelms the positive outcomes, since it leads to spending a huge part of national budget. But there are alternative measures such as trying to change people’s eating trend through advertising, as well as encourage and reward them to use existent ways and facilities to increasing their physical activity.