Some people say that drug companies have a responsibility to spend money on researching medicines that will help people in poorer countries. Others say the main responsibility of drug companies is to make money. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are contrasting opinions about whether drug companies should be responsible for researching medicines to help people in impoverished countries or earning solely for profit. In my opinion, although earning money is the fundamental aim of every drug company to survive in the industry, we should not forget the main purpose of establishing a pharmaceutical company, which is to help people, especially patients in poor areas.

On the one hand, some people believe that drug companies should mainly focus on making money for these reasons. First, when a company specializing in drug research earns a lot of money, it can fund its upcoming projects, such as creating new types of vaccines to cure emerging contagious diseases. For instance, Pfizer was able to fund their Covid-19 vaccine experiments and trials to help worldwide citizens as a big drug company in the industry, which is what a small company cannot afford to do. Moreover, a profitable drug company has more opportunities to export and distribute its medicine to the world and it brings transportation taxes to the country’s economy. Therefore, some people might support the idea of drug companies’ responsibility to earn money solely.

On the other hand, I believe that drug companies are accountable for researching medicines to help people, especially in poorer countries as they are established to support individuals’ lives not just make money. Drug companies should spend money efficiently on creating a new medicine that is affordable to poor patients to save more lives. The reason is that drug companies are invented to better and provide healthcare to every person, thus they need to spend money on creating effective and affordable medicines that can approach many people, especially in poor countries where medical infrastructure is still obsolete. Furthermore, funding drug research is a crucial responsibility that every drug company carries instead of making money because medicines are mainly created for humans and by distributing medicines to improve people’s health can a drug company exist in the drug industry.

In conclusion, the opinion of drug companies’ main responsibility is still a matter of debate for many people. However, I believe that drug companies are responsible for helping people with their health and perform their purpose by inventing reasonably priced, effective medicines instead of utilizing drugs to earn money.