Some people say free time activities for children should be organized by parents. Others say that children should be free to choose what they do in their free time.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are numerous approaches considering in which ways it is the best to nurture a child. For that statement, it is argued by many individuals that children’s pastimes should be either managed by parents or decided by their own will. In this essay, both sides of the proposal will be explored and discussed why this should be maintained as a balanced parenting method.

First and foremost, as parents act as the ones who should hold a clear understanding of their offsprings’ preferences, a child’s comprehensive development can develop ultimately owing to this. For example, recognising that utilising smartphones and other electronic gadgets under a considerable amount of time seems to be harmful for their eyesight, parents can set the limitation on the screen time for their well-being. However, many scientific researches have pointed out that a guardian who is always being afraid of their own children might encounter some unexpected incidents and keeps them in their comfort zone, is labelled “helicopter parent”. This, thereafter, generates several unhealthy effects on their children.

Secondly, it is believed that the young generation should discover the greater world on their own. By researching online about a specific musical instrument, for instance, a child has an opportunity to discover their preferences and get the sheer enjoyment of doing what they love. Unfortunately, there are not many recreational activities which are child-friendly. At this stage of age, children might need to receive support from their guardians on the activities they should participate in because many of them cannot distinguish which ones are positive for them. If not, it might directly affect a child’s cognition and consciousness later.

In conclusion, free time activities should be organised by parents, yet sometimes decided by a child’s hobbies. I highly recommend that parents should maintain both styles of child-rearing and have some deep conversation with their children to determine which activities suit them the most.