Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the issue of history education has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that more emphasis should be placed on history as a school subject than science and technology, while others argue otherwise. And I wholeheartedly agree with the latter stand. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that teaching history should take precedence over science and technology do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that students are able to learn our ancestors' misbehaviour, preventing human beings from committing the same mistakes that happened in the past, such as imperialism and colonisation. Furthermore, people have to take responsibility for bequeathing history to future generations given that not only can they have patriotism, but they are also able to feel a sense of belonging to society.

My opinion, however, is that teenagers benefit a lot more from studying science and technology. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that graduates who majored in science and technology are more likely to find well-paying and prestigious employment opportunities with greater ease because they are more in demand in the job market in this technologically-advanced era. In addition, having a tight grasp of huge amounts of knowledge related to science and technology makes it possible for mankind to devise groundbreaking solutions to numerous contemporary issues that humans face, exerting a positive influence on both individuals and society. As an illustration, science and technology can alleviate the impact of climate change, lessen global hunger, and save lives, which results in people having an improved standard of living. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that educating pupils about science and technology should be a priority for the reasons discussed above.