TOPIC: Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is claimed that the disappearance of several types of floras and faunas is the primary environmental issue, while many people argue that the environment has experienced other serious problems. This essay will discuss both views before reaching the conclusion that I personally agree with the second sentiment.

On the one hand, some people believe the loss of particular species should be considered as the main problem because of their role in the environment. In more detail, the disappearance of these species could reduce the diversity of the ecosystem. There are several endangered species such as tigers, pandas, and mountain gorillas that need protecting from extinction. Moreover, if some plants and animals vanish, it can lead to other environmental problems. For example, not only animals but also humans suffer from the loss of trees that causes extensive events involving floods. It seems that this issue is more important than others.

On the other hand, I strongly believe that there are other problems should be worried about. Particularly, people should consider several issues affecting straightaway the health of humans. For instance, a large number of people suffer from air pollution in daily life involving diseases that relate to respiratory. Furthermore, there are more crucial issues because they are the roots of others. Take global warming as an example, an increase in the temperature may cause ice melting, higher sea level, also affect the existence and habitats of animals and plants. Clearly, some problems except for the loss of species should be regarded as the root of ecological damage.

In conclusion, although the disappearance of floras and faunas could be considered as the primary environmental issue, I am of the view that there are much more problems to worry about like the pollution and global warming that could put humans in danger.