Some people say it is more important to plant trees in the open spaces in towns and cities than to build more housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals argue that town and city councils should attach greater importance on tree-planting campaigns in open areas than constructing accommodations for city dwellers. From my point of view, although increasing green area is of great significance, the urban planners should give their top priority to building more facilities for the locals in order to reach higher living standard.

On the one hand, local authority should place higher value on expanding the area of greenery for various justifications, chief of which is that trees can purify the contaminated air in urbanized regions. From a scientific perspective, the excessive number of vehicles in operations in metropolitan areas is notorious for its low level of air purity. Therefore, this trend is a trigger for the reduction in living satisfaction as well as the detrimental effects on human well-being. If more trees are planted in urban areas, the leaves might act as a dust shield and allows city residents to breathe in more purified atmosphere, hence better physical and mental health. However, air pollution is not the only urban hurdle which needs addressing promptly as there are more serious problems that can not be offset by plantation in towns and cities.

On the other hand, I firmly approve of the opinion thar the state should place a higher value on constructing new buildings for dwellers than increasing green areas. That is because both approaches are aimed to enhance the physical and mental well-being of the citizens, yet the provision of accommodations is more urgent and fundamental; moreover, there are several effective solutions for the fresher air in cities. The explanation is that the urban population is rising at a breakneck pace. If the local policy-makers do not take actions to improve quality of housing, part of city dwellers could live in overcrowded conditions, which leads to the substandard of living and deleterious impacts on general well-being. As a matter of fact, more open areas are devoted to the construction of new housing is synonymous with the drop of trees in public places, and this results in the degradation of air quality to some extent. Nevertheless, the local people can reverse the environmental decline by taking measures themselves such as installing air filters at work and at home. These actions would help city dwellers minimize the bad effects of air pollution to certain degree.

To sum up, despite some convincing reasons behind the idea of covering open spaces in urban areas with plants, I wholeheartedly believe that it is more advisable to place a greater emphasis on the construction of more accommodations for people living in towns and cities.