Some people say that it is possible for a country to be both economically successful and have a clean environment. Others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views about the combination of economic growth and having a fresh habitat in a country. While some people argue that it is impossible to achieve sustainable development, I believe that we can accomplish both targets.

On the one hand, the demand for goods for humans and the exploitation of raw materials are the reasons for the detrimental impacts on the surroundings in the era of economic development. In order to meet the growing request for energy, tapping natural resources seems to be the most used solution and such activities can not avoid serious risks to the environment. For example, when we discover a source of oil in a place, we might have to cut down all the trees in that area if we want to utilize it. In addition, as a consequence of a more advanced economy, citizens with higher living standards have increased demand for consumer goods. As a result, carbon emissions and wastes are inevitable results from the production processes of factories and industrial zones.

On the other hand, I am of the opinion that we can develop our economy and preserve the natural environment at the same time. Firstly, the over-dependence on fossil fuels could be reduced if we invested more in alternative energy sources. This will allow us to maintain our development while decreasing the level of environmental damage. Secondly, achieving economic goals is the foundation of adequate employment opportunities. With better means of earning money, people would have various chances to broaden their knowledge about the importance of environmental protection. Therefore, the amount of household waste illegally released into the living habitat would be minimized, which enables a nation to gain healthy development.

In conclusion, even though it is argued that environmental damage is unavoidable due to the acceleration in economic development, it is quite possible if humans take action to increase the use of alternative energy and raise their own awareness.