Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed.

However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments.

Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives?

For a long time, ethical rules in science have been a highly controversial problem. In particular, regarding the experiments conducted on animals, some people consider them unethical and thus, they should be prohibited. However, others think that they are essential to research and beneficial to humans.

In my opinion, I agree with the belief that animal experimentation is necessary. Over the course of history, a tremendous number of scientific breakthroughs that play vital roles in humans' development have resulted from experimentation on animals. For example, vaccines, which have eliminated various lethal diseases, need to be tested on mice in order to assess their safety and effectiveness. Had there not been those experiments, people would have not enjoyed the modern and developed world as the current one.

On the other hand, people who criticise tests carried out on animals may suggest other alternatives. Among those, it is widely believed that plants could be a suitable subject for scientific research. Furthermore, people also argue that thanks to the cutting edge technology, many experiments can now be conducted via simulations on the computer. Although these substitutions appear to be viable on the first sight, their practical applications may be very limited. While plants are too different from humans in terms of biological structures, computer experiments are complex and costly, making them unaffordable for most research centres in the world.

All in all, experimentation on animals greatly contribute to important many scientific findings; therefore, despite that they may sound inhumane to some people, they are necessary. Nevertheless, scientists should be prompted to find appropriate alternatives so that animal experiments can be abandoned