Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

With regard to the environment, the common perspective is that the chief environmental complication is caused by the extinction of certain plants and animals. Conversely, others believe that other environmental issues have greater ramifications. While I agree with both views, my opinion would favor the latter.

One of the main reasons for the extinction of plants and animals is due to deforestation and hunting respectively. During the caveman period, hunting was a natural human activity that was required to survive and fend for the family. Moreover, animals were hunted for their skin and tusks to make ornaments and clothes as well. The infamous Dodo bird and several other species were hunted down to extinction. However, over the past century, humans have evolved and their food habits and way of life have evolved with them. While hunting is no more a quotidian task of a human, one can't say the same about deforestation. In order to accommodate the growing population and industries cutting down trees has become typical. Flora and fauna are indispensable to the environment. So, the loss of even a few can cause catastrophic environmental repercussions.

The need of the hour is to find solutions to preclude environmental quandaries like climate change, a phenomenon which will decimate animals and humans alike. over the past few decades, global warming shot up by such whopping levels that even the ice caps have begun to melt. A permanent shift in the global climate will have a detrimental effect on the planet. All the species indigenous to cold and snowy regions will naturally perish due to the unfavorable environmental conditions that climate change will bring. On the long run, the planet will actually become colder than warmer despite global warming. The ice caps being the whitest part of the Earth naturally reflect heat and balances the temperature on the surface. With the ice caps gone, the temperatures will fall drastically and harm species that require warmer conditions to survive. Not to mention, the ocean is constantly heating up due to the increase in carbon dioxide levels, making it unsuitable for aquatic life. We must act now, to curb this disaster. Much like every other war, this too must be fought for survival and in the hope for a better tomorrow.

Since global warming leads to the loss of hundreds of species including humans all at the same time it is of greater importance. Having said that, diminishing flora and fauna will always prevail as a principal environmental issue irrespective of it's the cause.