The tradition of families getting together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts?

In today’s era, we find that human is giving more preference to materialistic things like money, house, cars and more and is losing the real essence of their lives. Families are important and spending at least some time during a meal is equally important to maintain the relationship.

Eating lunch or dinner with the entire family was a compulsory ritual followed by almost all families in most of the countries where family members would sit together and talk about the events of their respective day and mention some hilarious or serious moments of it. Also sharing emotions and experiences was happening between them which in the end helped the family members to bridge the age barrier between them.

However, as the technological era progresses, people especially young adults tend to forget this habit due to several reasons. To include a few, many teenagers migrate to bigger cities in search of jobs. Few of them leave for their studies or some leave their home town for better salaries. Also not to mention the scenarios where children skip meals just to play a few more chances of a mobile game. Small benefits substitute one of the main constituent of a person's life which is family.

These reasons will therefore not only start to create a crack within families due to lack of communication and sharing of feelings but also the exchange of ideas and experiences does not take place resulting in stoppage of knowledge transfer from elder generation to the younger generation. As a result, even joint families sometimes tend to break and divide into smaller couples and families.

To conclude, the ritual of having family meals at least once in a day is necessary between family members as it helps to understand one another better. Although, these traditions are degrading slowly due to more number of distractions available in today's generation and this has huge impact on individuals in their families as well.