Some people say that nowadays children have too much freedom. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

times New Roman";">some people believe that nowadays youngsters have too much licence to behave how they like. I totally agree with this view, because I think that more discipline should be imposed for the benefit and protection of children at school and in the home.

times New Roman";">

times New Roman";">There are dangers in the current tendency in many schools to allow children to have too much freedom. While some traditional ideas of schooling have been dismissed, such as harsh corporal punishment, not all change is for the better. when the authority of the teacher is undermined, then no learning takes place in the classroom. Lessons are sometimes disrupted by students shouting, running around or playing with their mobile phones. Unpunished, pupils fall behind with their studies and fail to make the grade when they sit exams. Therefore, to maintain educational standards, the schoolchildren of today should be given less freedom to behave as they like.

times New Roman";">In the home, parental involvement is often too lax in the upbringing of children. Without this supervision, children nowadays easily fall into juvenile crime and anti-social behaviour, or are preyed on by evil people on social networking sites. All these are major issues, for example, in UK society. In the past, many parents may have been overprotective, but today’s children are too often allowed to spend money and time unsupervised. Although I agree that youngsters should be allowed some freedom of choice during their formative years, strict rules are lacking at home. too few parents impose responsible patterns of behaviour such as regular bedtimes, times for homework and the need for children to inform parents of where they and what they are doing.

times New Roman";">In conclusion, children today have been given too much freedom to behave as they like at school and in the home.