Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Nowadays it becomes more easy to learn a new language as a result of the advant of the internet. It has been argued that there is no reason for learning a foreign language except for travel to or work in a foreign country. However, some people think that there are numerous number of reasons why people should learn a language that is different from their mother tongue. This essay will discuss both opinions in details and agree with the latter.

On the one hand, learning a foreign language, with no doubt, is crucial for working abroad or traveling. In work, being aware of two or more languages give you the priority in work. Also, it increase the opportunities for getting promotions. Moreover, if an individual travel to a land that he is well-aware of its language then there is no need for hire a translator so it can save some of the trip's budget. In a recent study done by the University of London they proved that people who speak foreign languages get more privileges in their work.

On the other hand, learning a foreign language not limited for specific reasons or purposes. Learning new labguages plays an important role in connecting two different culters together. In other words, it can enables a person fro getting to know more about that culture. In addition, it has an effects on relationships and that allowed people to make friendships with others. Therefore, it contribute in broaden people horizon. In my opinion, i completely agree with the latter opinion as i myself learnt English for many purposes that travel or work not included in them.

In conclusion, these days people have tendency to learn foreign languages. Although languages are important for work and travel, its benefits can go beyond that, which it can connect cultures and offer the chance for forming friendships with new people.