Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion. (at least 250 words)

Some people hold the idea that the only purpose of learning a foreign language is to travel or work in foreign country. While some others oppose this viewpoint. In my opinion, I agree that the reason of learning a foreign language is to travel and work in a foreign country, however, it is not the only reason when someone want to learn a foreign language.

On the one hand, many people learn a foreign language because they have to work or study in that country. It is clear that knowing the language of the country we work will help the process of working, also activities of the daily life, become more convenient. Besides learning a foreign language also help us be harmony with the foreign community quickly. In fact, many successful people shared that knowing a foreign language played a decisive role in the achievements, especially for bussiness who often have the negotiations. In addition, if you can use the language of the country you travel in, you needn't hire any tourguide or translator because you can get the informations from locals.

On the other hand, a person may learn a foreign language for many reasons. First of all, we learn a foreign just with an easy reason that we feel enjoyable with it or its country. For example, I have not yet had the idea of coming the China in the future, however, I have spent the spare time on Chinese because I love the Chinese culture after watching the accient Chinese movies. As a result, I have learned the Chinese in order to be able to discover the Chinese history on my own. Another reason is that the students of the medical faculty in Vietnam are required to have the language certification of English and Chinese because many diseases and medicines are used in English and Chinese.

In conclusion, some people learn a foreign language in purpose for travelling or working abroad, however, a person may aslo learn a foreign language for many other reasons.