Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

discuss both views and give your opinion

International languages should be learned only for the purpose of travelling or working in other nations. This is claimed by some people, while others believe that there should be other reasons as well. I think that although travel and work are essential factors, additional language should be learned to understand the native cultures and also to enhance a persons intellect.

Visiting a country for tourism or work has its own challenge. One of this is communication with the local people. In order to communicate effectively, it is important to study the native language. For example, not many people in Turkey speak other languages like English. In such places knowing the local language is crucial to fulfil your everyday requirements. In other words, without being able to talk to the native people it is difficult to be able to cater to simple needs like food or even to ask for directions or help. Hence, travelling for work or leisure is a prime reason to learn other tongues.

However, speaking an additional language should not be restricted to the above cause alone. A language apart from being a means to communicate, also reflects the local culture of the countries inhabitants. Take for example the Arabic language, this language forms the basis of Arab traditions and islamic belief. In order to understand these traditions and scriptures it is important to know Arabic. In addition to this speaking another tongue is known to broaden a persons understanding and social skills. There are some studies which show that multilinguistic people are more dynamic and outgoing as compared to monolinguistic people.This means they are more capable of adapting to various situations. Moreover, speaking a variety of languages is extremely useful in Global trade and world politics which involves international interaction.

In conclusion, in my opinion, language is very important both while travelling and also for various purposes like cultural study and personal development.