Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, it is increasing the number of people who is willing to learn a second language. While some people believe that this skill will just be worth for those who travel or even live in a different country, others think that there are other motives beyond these ones and so do I.

First of all, we all know that it is important to learn the language of the country that you live or spend your vacation in order to communicate. Since some people do not care about it, they can cope with some undesirable situations because some misunderstandings. For example, immigrants need to pass by some interviews to get a job, and without a reasonable fluency, it can be hard to get a good position depending on the career. Hence, being confident in a second language helps foreigners to take great opportunities.

On the other hand, there are lots of experts that claim how beneficial it is to learn a second language. This activity plays an important role in people's brain. Studies reveal that it can help to prevent mental ailments, such as the loss of memory. Moreover, while learners are exercising their brains, they are also expanding their knowledge about culture and habits from countries where these languages are spoken. When people learn French, for instance, they are learning some traits of French people.

To conclude, learning a second language is a trend that is rising in a steadily pace. This essay discussed that the reasons for this phenomenon is not only for living and travelling purposes, but it is also to expand knowledge sharing cultures and contribute with people's mental health.