Some people say that we do not need printed newspaper nay more. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion ?

As the prevalence of the Internet increases inexorably in recent years, the way of reading news has emerged as a topic of interest. It is argued that conventional newspapers have been on the wane in light of the proliferation of online information channels. While this thinking is valid to a certain extent, I believe that abolishing printed papers would have an adverse bearing on both readers and society.

There are many compelling reasons why some people advocate the utilization of digital publications instead of paper versions. First, online news readers will stand a better chance of getting up-to-the-minute news, which will be particularly helpful for people being up to their ears in work and not having time to purchase papers at a newsstand. Second, online news, prompted by advertisements, is virtually free of charge. Most e-papers do not charge readers, which discourages many people from buying printed materials.

However, despite the aforementioned benefits of internet-based newpapers, I would contend that dispensing with printed news, in fact, can do both users and society a disservice. Today, the increasing accessibility of the internet to everyone from all walks of life has given rise to a vast array of diseases detrimental to eyes like short-sightedness, astigmatism or even blind. Therefore, if everyone read online newspapers, it is no longer feasible for them to see thing clearly, let alone reading newspapers. In addition to this, the enormous cost incurred to cover fees related to e-papers like cyberattack, fake news about politics will put a strain on government coffers, leading to budget deficits, tax hikes, or reduced welfare among others.

In conclusion, while the benefits of online newspapers make it seem like a good idea, I believe that traditional papers should not be abolished.