Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Education is a never-ending learning process that has always been a significant part of our lives. It is a single and vital way to success as well as personal growth. As education is a building block in our lives, we are willing to invest more in our education. Not to mention, going to university is one of the ways to invest ourselves. Tertiary schools provide many different courses which could be chosen by our self-interest, however, people believe that students should only further their studies on subjects which are useful in the future.

On one hand, students who started to step into college are count as an adult and should be given the opportunity to make their decision. It is noticeable that this decision is important for them and students will be forced to think wisely before choosing because once they have enrolled it is difficult to make changes. Furthermore, by studying subjects that are lack of interest could cause make them suffer and fail in their examinations, in a more serious way, it might lead them to commit suicide. For this reason, people, especially parents, shall respect their children's decision and give them full support.

On the other hand, those who think that students shall invest in useful subjects, such as science and technology, due to nowadays improvement of technology. Obviously, in the future, there will be more jobs opportunity in this industry, which might exclude other industry. For example, owing to robots, waiters who work in a restaurant today might be not needed in the time ahead. The demand for waiters eventually will be lesser and many of the people might end up unemployed.

To sum up, I think that graduates shall choose the subjects they are fond of rather than subjects that will benefit them in the future.