Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Recently, there are some opposing opinion about what subjects should university students be taught. While some argue that these students should study useful subjects related to science or technology, I am of the opinion that they should be encouraged to learn whatever they want.

To commence with, it is understandable that why it is supposed that university students had better study science and technology only. First of all, due to the explosion of the Internet and the advent of cut-off devices, graduates in such majors like IT or AI seems to have a wider and better opportunities of jobs. These trendy professions might be considered to be paid more, compared to artistic jobs. It is the financial benefits that attracts these future labours.

However, I strongly believe that it’s the best for university students to let them study any subject to their wishes. One primary reason is that each of us have different desires, strength and weaknesses. They play crucial roles in people’s career path. When learning what student good at and passionate about, they have the tendency to have greater academic performance. This, in the long term, helps them to get accomplishments and happiness. Moreover, such jobs like artist or singer aid human spiritual life quality. Arts create an harmony environment to raise our souls.

In conclusion, it remains a controversial topic whether undergraduate students should be allowed to study whatever subject they like or not. Although there are several reasons why they ought to follow technology and science majors, I reckon that to be successful and happy, each of them should choose their majors depending on their characteristics.