Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Raising the required driving age is reportedly believed to be the most efficient means of reducing traffic accidents. While this policy may have advantages to some extent, there are numerous much better measures should be considered

On the one hand, the positive effects of raising the legal age for driving a car or motorbike should not be underestimated. First and foremost, there is plenty of road incidents resulted from youngster's carelessness. It seems to be shreds of evidence that young people are driving more aggressively and often less responsible with their manners when compares with the mature ones. Therefore, it is reasonable to limit the driving age that can make sure they are mature enough to join traffic on their own without posing threats to others. Another reason is that the older driver may handle emergencies better. It is undoubtedly true that driving required alertness and high concentration since a small mistake can lead to terrible traffic pile-up. The senior people, who are more experienced, are controlling the transport more seriously and deal with difficult situations on the road better properly, whereas the youngster might not

Nevertheless, there are long-term actions to be taken to ensure road traffic safety. First of all, the government should investigate more budget in traffic infrastructure. Updating the main route throughout the country is synonymous with creating a better driving condition for the driver to encounter the unfortunate accident. Furthermore, improving the public transportation system can be a good way to encourage people to use mass transit. Besides the purpose of diminishing traffic congestion, public transports may also provide the youngster a means of transport until they get their own private vehicle or motorbike. In the second place, stricter punishment should be enacted as a deterrent to the driving offenders. Heavy fines, forfeiting the driving license or even long-time imprisonment can be a good can in point.

To sum up, since the youngster seems irresponsible for their driving and often drive aggressively, raising the legal driving age can be quite effective in short-term. Ensuring road safety requires long-term solutions such as improving traffic infrastructure or enforcing severer traffic legislation