Some people think that cultural traditions may be destroyed when they are used as money-making attractions aimed at tourists. Others believe it is the only way to save these traditions. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is thought that the exploitation of cultural traditions as a profitable business would contribute to its extinction. However, supporters believe that commercializing these aspects of culture will be the foundation of the preservation of traditions in the long-term. Arguments for and against will be clarified as follows.

Admittedly, traditional changes that drive commercialization can lead to the gradual loss of indigenous culture. Cultural uniqueness might be assimilated into alien cultures because local people carry out some small details but pose significant alterations to local activities and customs, ensuring that visitors may not encounter anything strange or scary. Particularly, several indigenous culinary traditions have been varied considerably to satisfy foreign tourists’ appetites. As a result, many dishes no longer preserve their original taste and becoming increasingly common as food tourism develops.

On the other hand, exploring tourism as a form of business can promote a positive transition which prevents cultural traditions from teetering on the brink of vanishing. In other words, possessing colorful substances and unique traditions, tourist destinations will attract more visitors, resulting in stimulating the booming of tourists. Hence, indigenous people not only can stabilize their lives by earning avenues from their arts and crafts but also keep craftsmanship alive. A good example is that ceramic villages foster their tradition and profit by providing tourists with pottery-making workshops in addition to souvenir products. Besides, regions, where are rich in tradition, can achieve economic development and increase employability in the hospitality industry by utilizing its local cultures and customs. This will help these tourist spots enhance facilities and infrastructures without relying on limited funding from governments.

In conclusion, while profit-making practices cause negative impacts on cultural features that should be taken into consideration, I believe that economic and cultural elements should be intermingled to preserve the core values of tradition and evolve along with social changes.