Some people think that the government should invest money in arts and cultural events, while others believe that the government should spend money on more important things. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Arts and cultural events depict a country’s heritage which the authorities must preserve. While some assert that the government must subsidise these forms, others argue that social issues need attention such as education and transport. From my perspective, the powers-that-be should promote artistic skills and affairs for conserving the traditions and improving the economy as well as they must consider developing other essential concerns.

One one hand, art enthusiast believe that the government must invest in unpopular art forms and affairs. One main reason is that several local art forms are vanishing rapidly from society. For example, Indian classical dance such as Bharatnatyam, Kuchipudi etc. are nearly on the verge of extinction and certainly needs funding to keep. Another significant reason is art such as dancing, painting and music are crucial for entertainment and television prospects. This art forms can be promoted to boost the economy of the country. For instance, Indian television show such as Indian Idol and Dance India Dance are exceedingly followed and viewed globally, thereby contributing to the financial growth of the country through digital media. Therefore, local bodies must protect these art forms as they represent the nation’s custom and earnings.

On the other hand, the opponents of art lover propose investment for social and economic problems like education and transport. Firstly, many developing countries are facing challenges to give the secondary school to people mainly residing in rural areas. Nonetheless, funds may be allocated by passing bills and budget should be reserved for development in education facilities. Secondly, road and rail facilities are inferior in some economies. Transport infrastructure unquestionably needs improvement for better connectivity to central cities. Consequently, these social predicaments are more crucial than art funding.

To sum up, in my opinion, even though the funding of artworks and functions are imperative to keep up the nation’s culture and prosperity, education and transport amenities need consistent advancement for the citizens.