Social media has replaced the traditional methods of communicating, and people use more

and more social media to communicate and to follow news and events. Do the advantages

outweigh the disadvantages?

With the advancement in technology, social media has replaced the conventional mechanisms of interaction and broadcasting news or events. These developments, however, have several merits such as instant access to details, easy to unite with people and comparatively reasonable in terms of pricing.

One potential drawback of using an online platform for communication is that it affects the linguistic abilities of an individual. This is due to the fact that they exchange their thoughts and opinion in an informal way. For example, WhatsApp is liable for deteriorating the English language skill of many students because of slangs commonly used on that application. Another loophole is that fake news and events get easily give on the web. This can be exemplified by an exclusive survey conducted by Indian media stating that a number of illegitimate news feeds are published from popular sites such as Twitter and Orkut. However, there are various advantages of using social media for communication and distribution of global affairs and events.

Firstly, it promotes expeditious intercommunication between friends and family members residing in another country. Secondly, this exchange of stories and daily affairs on the web are instant and moderately simple. For instance, Facebook is the most extensively used social media website that allows the user to post their life experiences and discovery by solely clicking a button. Lastly, this distribution of updates both personal and commercial is extremely affordable or at no price. In other words, a user needs to pay only for the internet charges in using these services. Nonetheless, the traditional forms of communication through cellular phone and radio did incur a significant cost of investment charges on wired setup and usage.

In conclusion, although there are demerits of using modern techniques of communication and to follow news and events like it hinders the communication skills and advertises fraudulent stories spontaneously, the advantages far supersede the disadvantages.