Some people think that the government should be responsible for crime prevention, while other believe that it is the responsibility of the individual to protect themselves. Discuss both the views and give your opinion ?

Criminal activity is exponentially increasing day by day. While some assert that it is the government’s duty, others believe that a person must secure themselves. From my perception, it is both the powers-that-be and citizens has a role to prevent the harmful effects of crime on society.

On the one hand, many people claim that it is the government's job to enforce strict rules against crime prevention. One of the main reason is that they have the power to implement proposals to protect their citizens against criminal events. For example, Indian authorities have amended strict laws and regulation such as hefty fines, imprisonment, etc. against several crimes such as cyber-hacking and online fund related scams. Moreover, the local bodies can use advertisement means to create awareness against violation and corruption. Such commercial advertisement on television, social media and radio is likely to make the general public more aware regarding crime prevention.

On the other hand, critics argue that the government cannot spontaneously reach the crime position. Therefore, citizens must learn to defend himself or herself in the case when an emergency arises. This can be achieved when people participate in the awareness drives conducted by the local bodies. As a result, these campaigns would help the general public to augment knowledge and expertise, thereby helping them to learn to take corrective actions during the criminal event. For example, Chinese citizens have to mandatory take Karate training to learn and defend during the robbery, burglary, etc. Thus, individuals must enrol themselves in self-defence coaching classes to tackle misconduct.

To recapitulate, I think that the government can amend stringent laws and create awareness for crime opposition. However, I believe that an individual can abide in these protocols and actively participate in these awareness drives to protect themselves.