Nowadays there is a growing trend of private car ownership. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of environmental problems associated with this ?

There has been a significant rise in the number of car owners due to affordable motor-vehicle rates. Such usage of private vehicles, however, have several environmental drawbacks such as pollution, congestion and deforestation.

One potential merit of using the private car is that users can conveniently travel to distant places. As a result, this saves a considerable amount of time because there is no need to pre-plan the journey ahead. Another significant advantage is that the citizens are less dependant on public transport. In other words, the car owners do not look into timetables and schedules for travelling, unlike the bus and train services.

However, there are enormous demerits of using personal vehicles on the environment. Firstly, vehicles emit harmful greenhouse gases such as carbon dioxide and methane. These smokes are responsible for deteriorating our surroundings, thereby causing tremendous air pollution. For instance, the researchers of the Indian Institute of technology have published an exclusive article stating the use of private car ownership as an essential reason for climate change in the country. Secondly, the increased use of car causes congestion on the road, especially during peak hours. This is exemplified by traffic jams in the city which are mainly induced due to the vast usage of private carriers. Lastly, the usage of each motor leads to deforestation. For example, In India, many forest space and reserved lands are demolished to build roads and widen the highways.

In conclusion, although there are benefits of using personal transport such as easy to travel and less reliable on public transit mediums, the disadvantages far supersede the advantages.