Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

Following the history of mankind, art has become a fundamental part that contributes to the development of culture, language, economy, and every aspect of life. However, there is a controversial argument that the government should use the money for other urgent issues rather than art. I personally disagree with this opinion because of the necessity of art in popular culture and its impact on humans.

First and foremost, art is a significant factor in constructing a nation's cultural identity. Music can be taken as a typical example to analyze the relationship between art and culture. Each country has its own types of national music that can symbolize its culture at a specific period in history. In Vietnam, Imperial Court music stands for the aristocracy from the Tran Dynasty to the Nguyen Dynasty, while “cai luong” - a form of modern folk opera in Vietnam, represents the Vietnamese middle class in the 19th century. These pieces of evidence once again affirm the vital role of art in shaping the cultural identity of a country through the history.

In addition, the impact of art on humans is undeniable. Art shapes our ways of thinking, provides us with a deeper understanding of the concept of self and emotions. Creative art activities such as painting, drawing, photography are considered as relaxing methods that can lower an individual's stress level and make them feel mentally clear and calm. Moreover, art is also used in the treatment process of many psychological diseases such as depression, memory loss, personality disorders, etc. It can be said that the application and influence of art on people is immense.

To sum up, people may argue that science and technology, or global warming, and other social problems are superior to art. Nevertheless, art makes life worthwhile by helping us to gain a better understanding of cultures, history, and tradition; as well as enriching our spiritual life. Therefore, there is no reason to deduct the funding for art from the government as art deserves to be recognized properly.