Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

In modern society, where spiritual values are appreciated, art and its various forms have been receiving more attention of not only community but also goverment. Some notions suppose that governmental expenditures on art extravagant and should be utilised for other purposes such as healthcare and farewell. Although I am among the supporters, it is undeniable that art is a domain worthing more investment.

Arts is considered as an activities for the purpose of amusment and entertaiment, in lieu of which authorities need to focus on social benefits. To exemplify for this argument, traffic infrastructure is one of the most arduous problems requiring abundant budget. For the sake of citizens, authorities should switch the spending on art activities to upgrading traffic system such as erecting bridges, expanding highway with more lanes, setting tram in order to facilitate the local transportation.

However it is undeniable that arts is an effective way to preserve and promote cultural values of a country. Thanks to antique exhibitions and museums, which create chances for young generation to study their own ethical history and belief of their formers. Frequent displays of traditional arts also help in the process of cultural promotion and spreading featured customs to foreigners, which is evaluated as a efficacious way to push the local tourism.

Taking all pros and cons of art into account, I suggest that although being not in the list of priorities, art needs to be cardinally taken care of.