some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

In our society, the arts is not only a merely entertainment tool but also plays an important role in economy in particular and the mental life of humans in general espacially in this era when there is a lot of people are under pressure of learning, money... However, a group of people believe that the government is burning a hole in their pocket because they invest too much money in the arts. To this opinion, I think I agree with it.

First of all, let's see why I agree. Each of countries which wants to have a sustainable development has to try their best to develop all aspects like economy, politics,etc. So, the problem is spending too much money on beautiful statues or imposing opera theatres will break the bank and stagnate the repair and maintenance work of road system, infrastructure as well as health facilities and schools...In order to build up a country, money should be paid for healthcare and public facilities and by doing this, the life of citizens can be improved and the nation's well-being will be increased. Secondly, as we all know almost works of art have to be pay through the nose but the effect that they produce is not worth the money that is spent. For example, the monument of Kebangkitan Palahwan costed about 1 billion rubiahs but in reality, it does not interest people that much. Finally, we have to accept the fact that the arts is not the core value in the life of humans. If a person does not have money, food or something like that, they cannot continue to live but without the arts, there is not serious influence here.

On the other hand, I still encourage the government to provide expense for many art center because these centers can help us to protect and spread the national identity. Besides, spiritual life of citizens can be more various and happier. Moreover, via arts, we can broadcast and attract more travelers to travel in our country and from there, the tourism can have an awesome revenue. Like foreign people really love Vietnam'culture so each year, this nation welcome a great amount of foreign travelers.

To sum up, I agree that our government should not pay a big buck for the arts. Supplying expense for many art center or concert to serve politics, tourism and the spiritual life of people is good but not too much or we will destroy the growth of other aspects.