Some people think that governments should ban dangerous sports, while others think people should have the freedom to do any sports or activity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many people think that authorities should ban extreme sports. Overall, I believe that people’s freedom of choice should be respected, and they can be involved in any kind of activity, as long as they understand the risks and consequences of their behavior.

The main argument in forbidding extreme sports comes from the fact that those activities are highly dangerous, and participants are exposed to many deadly scenarios. Accidents involving parachutes failed to open on jump or other technical problems happen every year, although the skydiving site’s manager claimed that supplies maintenance is conducted every week. However, people who luckily survived the accident can hardly do anything about the situation. Another argument is dealing with the aftermath form those accidents. Most skydiving businesses made participants sign contracts that relieve them from any responsibility if something goes wrong. In order to file a lawsuit against the skydiving company, plaintiff needs to be able to prove that the accident was a result of the company's action, which is something that is difficult and requires a lot of money and effort. Therefore, by banning life-threatening sports, the number of tragic accidents can be reduced.

In contrast, from a thrill-seeker point of view, skydiving or bungee-jumping and other dangerous sports is a way for players to express themselves. These people find danger heart-throbbing and exciting. Putting life on the line made extreme sports players feel surreal and it also work as an escape from the normal, boring, repetitive life. Not only extreme sports are hobbies, but they have also developed into a major market, offering so many job opportunities. For instance, car-racing or mountain-biking are among the most popular sports with millions of people currently working in the industry. Their championships attract players from all around the globe and the prizes can come up to millions of dollars. The benefits that these sports bring are undeniable and completely banning extreme sports would cause a big loss for the economy.

In conclusion, though dangerous sports indeed come with many risks, I think it is unnecessary for governments to ban them. Instead, the authority should create tighter guidelines for business providers and players to prevent pitiful accidents.