It is commonly believed that nowadays main factors that affect a child's development are media, pop culture and friends. A different point of view is that family plays the most significant role.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many people believe that children nowadays are heavily affected by social media, pop culture and trends going around on the internet. However, I believe that parents still have a stronger influence on the child’s growth because it is the parents who can interfere directly in children’s daily life.

Firstly, most children nowadays watch TV and binge on video games for leisure instead of participating in outdoor activities. As a result, the more they are exposed to social media and trends on the internet, the more they are influenced by them. TikTok is one of the fastest-growing platforms on the web nowadays and browsing through the app, it is noticeable that many users are under the age of 12. Another thing is that children often copy behaviors that they assumed cool, but at such a young age, it is hard for them to tell if the behaviors are good or bad. Therefore, they are easily affected by trends or what their peers considered fashionable.

However, because children are unable to detect what is harmful to them, it is the parent’s responsibility to create a safe environment for their children. As breadwinners, modern parents are too caught up with the hustle and bustle of life, they have higher demand material-wise, which sometimes causing them to neglect their children. An emotionally secure environment at home is critical for the child's confidence and self-development. Moreover, parents should also set boundaries for their children. The child’s choices later in life depend on the values instilled in them by their parents. Therefore, parents hold more substantial sway over their offspring than media, pop culture and friends circle.

In conclusion, I think it is the parents who set the stage for the child’s development. With moderate control and restriction, parents can create a proper environment for their children.