Plastic shopping bags are used widely and cause many environmental problems. Some people say they should be banned.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the changing times, plastics have become an important accessory of human life, which is produced at large scale, all over the world. The characteristics of plastic has made it one of the widely used item. Few people believe that it should be banned while others think that it should be not be banned. In my opinion, I feel that a plastic has an adverse effect on the environment and on the animals as well as the marine life.

Plastics are so widely used that they are often thrown into the garbage, drains etc. Though gazillions of plastics are sent for recycling but few are still left behind, not properly disposed. The same approach is adopted by the industries or large/ small scale companies resulting in throwing of plastics into sea, in large chunks. This further ends up in a mammals body or at times wrapped around its body, leading to physical injuries and finally results in death. This pattern is observed in the developing countries, also the under developed countries, where lack of awareness is one of the major reason for damage to the other living beings. Educating the people would benefit these countries enormously.

Banning plastic would mean that we have increased the rate of survival of the other living beings along with the humans. This would not only improve the food chain, which has been disturbed lately but will also result in ecological balance. Burning it in excess, often releases harmful gases, changing the composition of atmosphere, resulting in damage the ozone layer. Air pollution would be another consequence of burning it and may result in health issues.

Inconclusion, it would be beneficial for the mankind to ban the plastic and come up with other items that are biodegradable and also not a threat to the other living beings.