Some people think governments should care more about elderly while others think they should focus on investing in education for younger people. Discuss both views.

It is sometimes argued that governments should care more about senior citizens, while some people think that they ought to focus on funding education for younger generations. There is indeed a strong case to be made for both sides of the debate, which will be discussed now.

Proponents of elderly care often highlight the fact that members of this age group are prone to many physical impairments and require well-funded healthcare. For example, those with ageing-related diseases namely Alzheimer’s and dementia must be closely nursed by a medical professional at all times and treated with top-notch medical services. Given this, it is logical for governments to allocate more money for enhancing the quality and availability of senior healthcare services. In addition, considering that most elderly citizens have paid taxes to the government for decades, and many people of older generations are veterans who have fought in wars to bring about peace for their nation, they deserve to be recompensed by governments.

On the other hand, those advocating for investing in education believe that children should be emphasised since they are considered the “future” of every country. This is because they are expected to grow up to become productive citizens and workers and work hard to contribute to their country’s prosperity, which will be more possible if they are secured a proper education by their government. On this side of the debate, people also believe that since elderly people do not have much time left in their lives, there is no need to spend a lot of money on improving their living standards. Instead, governments should expend that money on education for young individuals to help with their personal growth and boost their knowledge and skills, inherently serving as a springboard for their future success in life.

In summary, it is my conviction that both elderly care and education for young people are extremely vital in their own ways, and it would be unwise to make such a blanket statement that governments should prioritise one over the other.