Some people think that governments should give financial support to creative artists such as painters and musicians. Others believe that creative artists should be funded by alternative sources. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are many different views about funding creative artists should be from governments or other sources. In my point of view, the government should have a financial support to such artists because of their contributions to public places in the country.

Many proponents believe that creative artists such as painters and musicians can earn enough money themselves and do not need the financial aid from the government. These gifted artist are professional and they are likely can secure an official job with a good salary as many other occupations. They might even can extra their income by selling their art work without any supporting policy from the government. For example, a painter who works for a designing company such as furniture design company can sell their individual pictures to their private customers for decorative purposes.

Apart from convinced reason mentioned above, I concur that the government should have some aids to artists because they contribute to the country in terms of attracting tourists and cultural diversity. Painters and musicians performing in the streets or public places make the cities become an interesting and attractive destination for visitors. For example, in Vietnam, there is a very famous street in Hanoi where vehicles are inhibited in the weekend for pedestrians to enjoy outdoor activities together, which are organized by themselves or artists. Foreign visitors are charmed by many public singing performances or being curious about Vietnamese traditional games organized inside the street.

In conclusion, although many advocate that artists can earn money and cover their living cost by themselves, I believe that they are deserved to the government support because of their intangible contribution to the public.