Some people think history has nothing or little to tell us, but others think that studying the past history can help us better understand the present. Discuss both views and give your opinion

There is no denying that history is an irreplaceable field in any era. In light of this, the importance of history has become a topic of general interest among citizens. Some people believe history has nothing or little to pass down to after generations, I would argue that humans can have a clear observation of modern days through what history tells.

Some people give a reason why history relatively has nothing to tell people. An advocate for this opinion might argue that history has little application for life compared to science and technology. The world is being modernized based on the involvement of machines and automatics. Therefore, history seems to contribute little to this process. However, the definition of history itself is not only wars and conflicts but also recording all the events that occurred. The scientific theories and technological improvements nowadays are based on the rudiments from the industrial revolutions in the past. The first industrial revolution, for instance, registered the appearance of mechanical machines which ran by steam and water power had replaced manual labour and boosted production.

In my opinion, people can clearly understand the present-day movements via history. This is because people can comprehend the foundations, standards and roots of all questions. Particularly true for Vietnam, young generations need to study history to know how ancestors fought against invaders to keep today's independence. In addition, because the past and the present have a connection, society is improved based on historical existing relationships. Such history explains the birth of NATO and sustainable alliances between America and European countries. Therefore, people are not provided with the necessary knowledge alone but also appropriate diplomatic policies.

In conclusion, history plays a key role in modern society and also the future since it facilitates people having a more obvious observation about the current. Although people now tend to bias other fields, such as science and technology, history is still the core element behind those achievements that should not be ignored.