some people think that hosting and international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Many people believe that initiating international events such as sports competitions may bring considerable damage to the host country. However, others refute this by noting the benefits of such events to the economy and to the individual. Both sides have some valid opinions which will be futher discussed in this essay.

According to some opinions, hosting events which are internationally held requires a great deal of money. There is a likelihood that such burden falls into the bills of the local taxpayers. This may deteriorate the lives of many people who are barely making it through each day. Futhermore, such events may also be culturally damaging. Hordes of people marching through the streets may not take control of their action, especially, if they are under the influence of alcohol. Besides, conflicts may arise between the supporters of winners and loser groups which may influence innocent local people.

On the contrary, those who side with the benefits of international sports competitions to the host country express sound reasons for their support.

First of all, such events help countries expand their prominance by advertising the unique nature of their country and recreational places so as to entice many tourists to the country. Expenditure of tourism is proven to be one of the successful ways to the sound economy. Moreover, guests coming to the country during such events may not always behave violent and immature towards locals. There might be civilized people who come with the intention of learning about the culture and local life, make friendship with the citizens of the host country. This may help local residents to broaden their outlook and might prosper intercultural relationship.

To conclude, conducting international sports competitions is not always as damaging as some may believe.