Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones for communication has a negative effect on young people’s reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an argument that young people’s reading and writing skills can be negatively affected due to the increase in computer and mobile phone usage. I disagree with this view.

In terms of reading skills, it is undeniable that the development of digital devices can reduce the proportion of young people reading books or newspapers by traditional methods. However, those kinds of devices also provide a variety of sources for reading, for example, e-books, online magazines, or online documents, which are more convenient to read and value for money, as the result, encouraging young people to read regularly and therefore, improving their reading skills. In addition, posts on the internet often represent their information with attractive images and provide tools to highlight or note down the keywords, hence helping people to maximize their ability to read effectively.

Regardless of writing skills, young today tend to use inappropriate words or slang words while texting messages which are considered to be negative habits in writing in general. However, they often just be used in informal situations, for instance, chatting with friends. other situations such as writing essays or email still require people to have formal writing skills, and technological innovations could be useful. In order to improve vocabulary and grammar structures, people now have online dictionaries which not only provide thousands of words and example sentences but also reduce time and are convenient to access. Moreover, there are apps that enable people to find mistakes in writing and suggest ideas for users to have the best version for their essays, therefore helping them to improve their writing skills.

In conclusion, I believe that digital applications such as computers or mobile phones could aid in enhancing young people’s writing and reading skills in various ways, thus people should take this advantage.