Some people think international car-free days are an effective way of reducing air pollution; however, others think there are other ways. Discuss both views and give your opinion

There has been debate over what is the best solution for mitigating air contamination. While some people argue that international car-free days are effective in mitigating air pollution, others believe that there are more possible ways. This essay will discuss both points of views.

It is true that exhaust fumes from cars are one of the main cause of air pollution as they contain a relatively high proportion of pollutants such as CO2. When people around the world halt using cars, no harmful smoke will be released into the atmosphere, and this will improve the air quality. This policy is extremely effective in big cities in the world, such as Shanghai city, which is well known for its dirty air smog-filled atmosphere

However, there are more effective ways that should be applied to maximize gas emissions reduction. Firstly, local governments should try to further encourage the use of public transportation, such as subways and buses, as they only produce a smaller of quality pollutants, which in turn is less likely to impact the air quality. Secondly, toxic fumes from factories should be disposed of by updating advanced technology of production in order to reduce the massive amount of exhaust fumes emitted by factories. If such attempts are worldwide successful, emissions from major industrial areas would be substantially restricted, resulting in a gradual decrease in the level of pollutants in the air.

In conclusion, in my view, environmental pollution is the biggest problem that people have to face in the 21st century and to solve it many measures should be taken at the same time to be effective. I believe that only implementing one approach is pointless.