Some people think it is more important for government to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on the treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that government should pour more money into improving a healthy living to prevent diseases than find out the cure of victims. In my opinion. I totally disagree with this view for following reasons.

There are strong reasons for government to promote a healthy lifestyle. First, people can work more effectively, live longer once they have a good health. A healthy lifestyle also play a part as to prevent illness. According to many researches, people who do not smoke live longer than smokers do. Secondly, it encourages individuals to do more exercises such as walking, riding bicycle which are the good ways to reduce an amount of carbon dioxide released in the air. Then, our air will be fresher, much cleaner which is much better for us to live.

From my point of view, it is more essential to spend money on treatment of victims. Once, scientists found out the cure of rare disorders, it would be a remarkable step for our science, make a reduction of the victims suffering from those disorders and stop infectious from spreading. Black Death killing about 200 million Europeans in 14th century offers a excellent example. Causing by black rast, pest was the tragedy of people in Europe in 14th. Another reason is nowadays not all illnesses are attributable to lifestyle choices, it can be a result of polluted environment. According to many sources of information, there are thousand of Africans die because of lack of fresh water each year.

In conclusion, while promoting healthy living is important, treatment must have priority in health service spending.