Some people think that large, impressive buildings are important for city. Others believe that the money should be spent on improving schools and hospitals. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that in cities it is important to have large and impressive buildings, while others suggest that the focus should be put on improving schools and hospitals with public money. This essay will discuss both viewpoints and give reasons behind my opinion.

In the first place, tall and significant buildings are built downtown in every city all around the world, to represent the cities' power and wealth. Those kinds of buildings (most of the time skyscrapers) attract an incredibly large number of tourists that pay to reach the top and experience the view, but also influent companies that want to rent floors to make them their offices. All of these reasons may seem enough for everyone to think that it is important to build such big buildings, but I find myself disagreeing with this choice on how to spend public money. Construction often takes more years than it should, and more money than it was arranged, draining the budget and leaving buildings not completed. One example can be a large tower that was being built in Rome in the early 2000s, left undone and abandoned because there was not enough money.

The second point of view suggests that public money should be spent on improving schools and hospitals that, being public institutions, should be helped to offer good education and healthcare. Personally, I believe that for such important community services a larger share of the public budget should be reserved to ensure constant improvement. For example, having more money to spend could mean having more scholarships to give to those who cannot afford education or provide more supplies and cover more shifts for hospitals' personnel.

In conclusion, while it can be great to have large and impressive edifices in town to host important agencies and businesses, the most important thing is to invest on institutions like schools and hospitals that provide fundamental services for the communities.