Some people think the main purpose of school is to turn children into good citizens and workers, rather than to benefit them as individuals.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The interpretation of schools’ primary role is divided into conflicting views. Some argue that it’s goals prioritize the model of good dwellers and workers, rather than individuals’ benefits. Personally, I take issue with this notion, owing to significant changes in the modern education system.

For one thing, schools are believed to provide students with out-dated programmes, which rigidly follow the tradition of producing graduates with a secure job for life. In the past the ideal model which satisfies parents’ expectations is that their progeny are engaged in stable occupations to make their own living. Schools at that time, however, meet this demand and children are coerced into acquiring good grades to become who is considered as well-educated. In turn, they would have a better job prospect and grow maturely. This form of success has been instilled in some conservative individuals but no longer justified in this day-to-day world.

For another, I contend that the current education system not only has changed radically compared with that before, but also brings ample opportunities for individual development. First, reasonable adjustments in the syllabus allows educational institutions to trigger students’ specific virtues, which is beneficial for them to be well-versed in some favored particular aspects. This is especially advantageous to children who possess creativity and talent in subjects requiring abstract thinking such as art and music. Meanwhile, with regards to the disparities in learning abilities, separating learners into gifted and ordinary schools is prevalent these days, which enables each group to progress at their own pace and cultivate themselves in a way that is most suitable for personal requirements.

To conclude, schools merely focus on one’s career prospect is indeed a serious misconception. Nonetheless, the modern education system offers great environments for individuals to progress for their own sake.