Some people think that the main purpose of schools is to turn children into good citizens and workers, rather than to benefit them as individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

When the scholastic issue comes into view, there exist conflicting opinions. Some people are convinced that schools are responsible for teaching students to become kind residents and employees, while others believe that they should become different individuals. It strikes me that it is vital for children to grow into separate individuals for the following reasons.

To begin with, it is undeniable that individuals can make breakthroughs in different fields. This is because each student has his own advantages and disadvantages; hence, when being taught as individuals, students have opportunities to foster their abilities and minimize their drawbacks. Take Thomas Edison as an illustration for the strong link between breakthrough and being an individual. Accordingly, our eminent scientist was expelled from school by his primary teacher due to his differences. It was his mother who encouraged him to become different; therefore, we now have one of the greatest inventions – the electricity bulb. What can be inferred from this is that it would be essential for children to be benefited from their advantages.

Additionally, most ordinary schools do not teach students life skills such as cooking, growing vegetables, raising animals. Indeed, students are taught subjects which are necessary for their higher education and future career, including Maths, Science. Consequently, students are not able to live on their own due to their lack of vital skills. Recent research has shown that life skills are necessarily taught at schools. Reportedly, a study in Hong Kong recorded that when the fire set off, students who were taught life skills stood a higher chance of survival than those who were taught only Math and Science. This directly suggests that besides academic subjects, schools should provide their students with knowledge of life skills.

In conclusion, I truly prefer that students should possess benefits as individuals. Not only should educational institutions encourage students to develop their sharp points but they had better provide children with well-round education.