Some people think money is the best gift to give to youngsters, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The tradition of giving and receiving gifts among people has been in existence from ages. People gift presents to others in order to congratulate one's victory, to wish birthday and to celebrate festivals. Today, the most common gift given to the youngsters is money. In further discussion, the positive and negative effects of gifting money to children are highlighted.

Some people believe that money is the best gift for youngsters. To support this, adults usually find it difficult to decide what present they should buy for the toddlers to fascinate them. The minds of the young children are creative and their liking towards a particular entity may vary with time. Therefore, to impress children is not an easy task as one would have to think according to a child and then deciding their likes and dislikes. Thus, they prefer gifting money rather than their toys being dumped by children. This allows the children to possess anything of their choice. Children can also save the money in their piggy banks for future use. On a similar note, gifting money saves time for parents who have a hectic schedule at work.

On the contrary, other people believe that children should not be gifted money as it exploits their habits. When children are provided with ample amount of money without being questioned, they are most likely to fall for undesirable activities such as smoking, drinking and drugs. This causes severe effect on their health and acts as hurdle in their future. Also, refusing to give money to children results in their reluctant behaviour towards academics. Such activities lead to the wastage and misuse of the hard earned money of the parents at an early age.

I believe that money cannot buy happiness. Though money can be given as a gift to children but there should be certain limits and proper guidance, so as, to keep children under control and away from the wrong pursuits.

In conclusion, it is not necessary to gift children money to applaud their achievements. The parents must organize picnics and trips occasionally to rejuvenate themselves and strengthen their relationship.