Some people think news has no connection to people’s lives. So then it is a waste of time to read the newspaper and watch television news programs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that reading the newspaper and watching television news programs is meaningless and time-consuming. While there might be some reasons to support that idea, I believe that we should keep updated with the latest news on either magazines or television.

On the one hand, the argument that it is a waste of time to either watch TV or read the press is reasonable to some extent. Firstly, there are a lot of advertisements in newspapers and on TV that distract readers. For instance, real estate advertisements surrounding an architectural article can annoy readers. They can lead readers to focus on real estate information rather than the original purpose of learning architectural knowledge. Secondly, there are many useless gameshows on television. They take too much of young people's time but do not bring too many practical benefits.

On the other hand, there are a variety of reasons why I believe that staying up to date with the latest news is totally advisable. The first reason is that it helps people become informed and aware of global issues. For example, during the covid-19 pandemic, the Vietnamese government divided the country into 3 different zones: green-zone, red-zone, and yellow-zone, based on the danger level of each area. Residents need to update information daily to know which zone they are in. Therefore, they can adjust their activities to suit their zone. The second reason relates to professional knowledge enhancement. Fashion designers, for instance, have to stay up to date with the latest fashion news to understand market trends. Hence, they may adapt their new designs to fit the tastes of customers.

Finally, I feel that in today’s world, when information is abundant, we should receive it selectively.