Some people think that offenders should be put in prison. Others, however, believe that providing offenders with education and training is more effective than putting them in prison.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are some strong opinions about whether to provide criminals with rehabilitation rather than imprison them. I will discuss both views in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, providing education and training is suitable for those who commit minor crimes such as shoplifting or pickpocketing. Because they are who do not have money in order to meet their basic needs, they commit minor crimes such as shoplifting or pickpocketing. After receiving the punishment, they can have rehabilitation programs to improve what they did wrong. Moreover, when they finish this, they can get a job to earn money. For example, according to a recent survey conducted by the National University of Vietnam, 65% of minor crimes compensate for victims and get a job to meet their basic needs.

Secondly, serious crimes such as robbery or murder, they must be imprison. Because their behavior affects the security of society. And they must be responsible for their behavior. If they do not receive punishment, it will become too unfair to the victims. The victims will live with the harm caused by serious crimes. This will affect the social order when serious criminals do not receive proper punishment. This poses a serious threat to society. For instance, the economic researcher of the ABS University of Vietnam did some research about 70% of people living in the city fear when the big criminals have not been jailed. To address the problem, serious crimes receive the punishment of imprisonment.

In conclusion, it seems evident that both views have their own unique advantages.