Some people think that offenders should be put in prison. Others, however, believe that providing offenders with education and training is more effective than putting them in prison.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are valid arguments about how to deal with criminals. Some people say that they should be imprisoned, while others think rehabilitation programmes are more efficient. In my opinion, I agree with the latter, and I will explain the reasons in the following paragraphs.

On the one hand, it is essential to imprison criminals in order to uphold the rights of the victims and to ensure that those responsible for the crimes are held accountable. This is especially important when it comes to felonies such as murder, robbery, or rape, which have a profoundly negative impact on both the victims and society as a whole. Furthermore, to curb the crime rate, crimes should be punished strictly by prison sentences to set an example for others if they intend to commit a crime. For example, there are many public trials to show how criminals are punished by imprisonment.

On the other hand, rehabilitation is another solution for those criminals who commit less serious crimes. For instance, judges should consider the motivation of crimes, such as shoplifting crimes, which may stem from unemployment. In that case, they can give offenders vocational programmes in prison so that after the end of their prison term, they may find a job for their living. In addition, with young offenders, they have a long future ahead of them, so they should be given a different trial compared to adults' trials in which educating and training may be prioritised, ranging from reform schools to counselling juvenile delinquency programmes. As a result, they can integrate into the community and become responsible members of it.

In conclusion, prison sentences are a crucial way to maintain social order and security. However, to address the problem of the reintegration of criminals into society after serving prison sentences, rehabilitation programmes should be given to them associated with detention.