Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of the society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are opposing views about whether children should be taught at school to become better individuals of society or family is the suitable place for them to learn this from. While I understand why some people support the former view, I am still in favour of the latter.

People who believe that teachers or environments at school will facilitate the prospect of children learning this have several arguments. From their point of view, educators who have academic qualifications will have easily understandable teaching methods. Therefore, children are not just equipped with practical knowledge but also can apply and perform accurately in real life. Another point to be made is that learning at school offer a social environment. This means that after learning the theory, students will have many friends to discuss or practising with. By doing this, they can absorb the large amount of knowledge readily as well as foster their interpesonal skills such as ways of teamworking or discussing.

Nevertheless, I still side with those who believe children should be taught at home. This is because of parents have lived together with their kids since they were born so they are the one who know them best. Therefore they will know what their kids need to learn or what they lack and will have a suitable way to educate them. Another reason to be given is that by living close to their family, whenever children have a bad behaviour or do something wrong, their family can simultaneously adjust it. For example, some children may have a habit of saying bad words, if their family can hear it they can directly punish them.

In conclusion, despite acknowlege why people think school will help to teach children, I hold the belief that parents are better instrutor for them.