Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of the society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is considered by some that parents should teach their children about the ways to be good and civilised members of society while others hold the opinion that these values should be taught by the school. However, in my opinion, I believe that parents and school both are equally important to instil moral values, among children, to be a good citizen.

On one hand, parents are the first teachers, and home is the first school where children learn about life lessons. Educating children about love, empathy, kindness, and socially acceptable behaviour is a must at home. In addition, children should be taught to help the needy members of the community because parents know their children well. Hence, they can teach their kids about social responsibilities effectively, which should not be ignored.

On the other hand, school is the place where children are taught skills on various subjects that help to be self-reliant. When children gain education and various skills in school, it will help them in future to become self-dependent. This will also empower them to contribute towards society using their skills. For example, educated children may help to teach alphabets and help to read and write, to illiterate members of the society. Thus, in my opinion, children should be taught to be socially responsible by parents as well as at school. When children get such education of skills, love, and kindness they can grow to become a helpful member of the society.

In conclusion, the most effective method to help children to become morally and socially responsible part of a society is to teach them at home and also at school.